Roslyn Public Library
New on the Shelves
  1.   “The Outsider” by Stephen King
    “The Outsider” by Stephen King
    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An unspeakable crime. A confounding investigation. At a time when the King brand has never been stronger, he has delivered one of his most unsettling and compulsively readable stories. An eleven-year-old boy’s violated corpse is found in a town park. Eyewitnesses and fingerprints point unmistakably to one of Flint City’s most popular citizens. He is Terry Maitland, Little League coach, English teacher, husband, and father of two girls. Detective Ralph Anderson, whose son Maitland once coached, orders a quick and very public arrest. Maitland has an alibi, but Anderson and the district attorney soon add DNA evidence to go with the fingerprints and witnesses. Their case seems ironclad. As the investigation expands and horrifying answers begin to emerge, King’s propulsive story kicks into high gear, generating strong tension and almost unbearable suspense. Terry Maitland seems like a nice guy, but is he wearing another face? When the answer comes, it will shock you as only Stephen King can.
  2. “The Language of Thorns” by Leigh Bardugo
    “The Language of Thorns” by Leigh Bardugo
    Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, #1 New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo has crafted a deliciously atmospheric collection of short stories filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love. Enter the Grishaverse... Love speaks in flowers. Truth requires thorns. Travel to a world of dark bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems, where a young mermaid's voice can summon deadly storms and where a river might do a lovestruck boy's bidding but only for a terrible price. Perfect for new readers and dedicated fans, the tales in The Language of Thorns will transport you to lands both familiar and strange—to a fully realized world of dangerous magic that millions have visited through the novels of the Grishaverse. This collection of six stories includes three brand-new tales, each of them lavishly illustrated and culminating in stunning full-spread illustrations as rich in detail as the stories themselves.
  3. “Troll Hunters” series by Dreamworks
    “Troll Hunters” series by Dreamworks
    Trollhunters: Tales of Arcadia is an American computer-animated fantasy television series created for Netflix by Guillermo del Toro and produced by DreamWorks Animation and Double Dare You Productions.[2] It follows the story of James Lake Jr., a teenage boy who finds a mysterious amulet and stumbles across a secret realm inhabited by trolls and other magical creatures. Soon afterward, he and his friends are charged with protecting our world from the dangerous monsters that lurk in the shadows of their small suburban town. The first two episodes of the series premiered on October 8, 2016, at the New York Comic Con.[1][3] The first season was released worldwide on Netflix on December 23, 2016.[4] The second season premiered on December 15, 2017,[5][6] and the third and final season premiered on May 25, 2018.[7][8] Since its release, Trollhunters has been widely praised as an ambitious and boundary-pushing animated series, with Filmink's Travis Johnson calling it "...the best children’s animation to come along since Avatar: The Last Airbender." [9] The series was nominated for nine Daytime Emmy Awards in 2017, winning more than any other animated or live-action television program that year.[10] In its first two seasons, it has also received or been nominated for several Annie Awards, Kidscreen Awards, and a Saturn Award. The show has also spawned several original children's books and has been adapted into a series of graphic novels by Marc Guggenheim and Richard Hamilton, released by Dark Horse.[11] Anton Yelchin continued to be part of the series through the first two seasons, as he had recorded enough dialogue to complete them before his sudden death.[12] Yelchin was also able to provide a portion of dialogue for the final season, while the remaining portions of dialogue was recorded by Emile Hirsch.[13][14] Following the show's success, Guillermo del Toro announced that Trollhunters will be the first chapter in a trilogy of television series entitled Tales of Arcadia. The story will be continued in a science fiction inspired follow-up series entitled 3 Below, and the trilogy will be concluded in a third and final fantasy series entitled Wizards.[15] It also premiered on Pop on September 3, 2018.
  4. “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things” by Bryn Greenwood
    “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things” by Bryn Greenwood
    A beautiful and provocative love story between two unlikely people and the hard-won relationship that elevates them above the Midwestern meth lab backdrop of their lives. As the daughter of a drug dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. It's safer to keep her mouth shut and stay out of sight. Struggling to raise her little brother, Donal, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible adult around. Obsessed with the constellations, she finds peace in the starry night sky above the fields behind her house until one night her stargazing causes an accident. After witnessing his motorcycle wreck, she forms an unusual friendship with one of her father's thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold. By the time Wavy is a teenager, her relationship with Kellen is the only tender thing in a brutal world of addicts and debauchery. When tragedy rips Wavy's family apart, a well-meaning aunt steps in, and what is beautiful to Wavy looks ugly under the scrutiny of the outside world. A powerful novel you won't soon forget, Bryn Greenwood's All the Ugly and Wonderful Things challenges all we know and believe about love.
  5. “Children of Blood and Bone” by Tomi Adeyemi
    “Children of Blood and Bone” by Tomi Adeyemi
    With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. They killed my mother. They took our magic. They tried to bury us. Now we rise. Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope. Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy. "A phenomenon." ―Entertainment Weekly “The epic I’ve been waiting for.” ―New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu “You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” ―New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton “The next big thing in literature and film.” ―Ebony “One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” ―Teen Vogue This title has Common Core connections. #1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018
  6. “Transcription” by Kate Atkinson
    “Transcription” by Kate Atkinson
    A dramatic story of WWII espionage, betrayal, and loyalty, by the #1 bestselling author of Life After Life In 1940, eighteen-year old Juliet Armstrong is reluctantly recruited into the world of espionage. Sent to an obscure department of MI5 tasked with monitoring the comings and goings of British Fascist sympathizers, she discovers the work to be by turns both tedious and terrifying. But after the war has ended, she presumes the events of those years have been relegated to the past forever. Ten years later, now a radio producer at the BBC, Juliet is unexpectedly confronted by figures from her past. A different war is being fought now, on a different battleground, but Juliet finds herself once more under threat. A bill of reckoning is due, and she finally begins to realize that there is no action without consequence. Transcription is a work of rare depth and texture, a bravura modern novel of extraordinary power, wit and empathy. It is a triumphant work of fiction from one of the best writers of our time.
  7. “Secrets from the Eating Lab” by Traci Mann, PH.D
    “Secrets from the Eating Lab” by Traci Mann, PH.D
    A provocative expose of the dieting industry from one of the nation’s leading researchers in self-control and the psychology of weight loss that offers proven strategies for sustainable weight loss. From her office in the University of Minnesota’s Health and Eating Lab, professor Traci Mann researches self-control and dieting. And what she has discovered is groundbreaking. Not only do diets not work; they often result in weight gain. Americans are losing the battle of the bulge because our bodies and brains are not hardwired to resist food—the very idea of it works against our biological imperative to survive. In Secrets From the Eating Lab, Mann challenges assumptions—including those that make up the very foundation of the weight loss industry—about how diets work and why they fail. The result of more than two decades of research, it offers cutting-edge science and exciting new insights into the American obesity epidemic and our relationship with eating and food. Secrets From the Eating Lab also gives readers the practical tools they need to actually lose weight and get healthy. Mann argues that the idea of willpower is a myth—we shouldn’t waste time and money trying to combat our natural tendencies. Instead, she offers 12 simple, effective strategies that take advantage of human nature instead of fighting it—from changing the size of your plates to socializing with people with healthy habits, removing “healthy” labels that send negative messages to redefining comfort food.

Location and Hours

Name
Email
Message
Subject
Phone
Submit
201 S 1st St
PO Box 451
Roslyn, WA 98941-0451
509-649-3420
Librarian@ci.roslyn.wa.us
Librarian: Brenda Sargent
 
Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
09:00am-6:00pm
09:00am-6:00pm
09:00am-6:00pm
09:00am-6:00pm
09:00pm-1:00pm
12:00pm-4:00pm
12:00pm-4:00pm

Library Programs

Children's Storytime
Every Tuesday 11:00am
Chess Club
Every Tuesday 3:00pm
(ages 10 and under)
Every Wednesday 3:00pm
(ages 10 and up)
Stitching Circle
Every Monday 4:00pm
Book Club
Last Thursday of the Month 6:00pm

Library Catalogs

Friends of the Roslyn Library

The Friends of the Roslyn Library meet at the Roslyn Public Library
the last Wednesday of the month at 7:00PM